NorthStar Bank, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender

Bank History


On April 1, 1997 NorthStar Bank was issued its banking charter from the State of Iowa, including authorization from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation to accept insured deposits. The bank was organized by a group of local farmers and business leaders led by John and Hugh Greig. The bank’s first president was and still is Scott Taylor. Our mission is to provide the area with top quality banking and insurance services that will help area residents reach their goals for success and happiness. With the acquisition of our Armstrong bank office in 2003, the opening of our new financial services building in 2004 and the acquisition of our downtown Estherville bank office in 2012, NorthStar Bank continued its mission to more broadly extend services to provide better access for our customers. NorthStar Bank has offices in Estherville and Armstrong, Iowa. In December of 2021, NorthStar Bank welcomed its new ownership by Robert Van Diest and his family through their Van Diest Investment Company. NorthStar Bank gained a new sister bank in First State Bank, Webster City which is led by David Taylor. First State Bank is headquartered in Webster City and also has offices in Clarion, Eagle Grove, Fort Dodge, Humboldt, Jewell, Lake View, and Stanhope, Iowa.

Back to Top
© 2024 NorthStar Bank, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. All rights reserved.